Many people that are using, or have looked into using, a bot with Slack will have come across the disclosure from Slack that once a bot is invited to a channel that it can see ALL messages in the channel.  Obviously, this is a security concern for _many_ people and organizations.

While inviting a bot was once the only way to interact with a @bot user in a channel (e.g, it had to listen to all messages via the RealTime API in order to "hear" the one it needed to respond to), Slack has since published the Events API which allows the @gonebusy bot to only receive messages in a channel when the bot is explicitly mentioned.

This means that talking to the @gonebusy bot in a channel for the first time like so:

@gonebusy book Follow-up Call with @bradley next Thursday at 2pm

will trigger Slack to ask you something like:

You can safely just click "Do Nothing" and Slack shouldn't ask you again.

Of course, you can always just use the /gonebusy  slash command instead and not trigger any bot invitation at all.  

See this article for more about slash commands versus talking to the bot directly.

If you are concerned you've added @gonebusy to a channel it should not be part of, you can always check your channel member list,

and remove @gonebusy from the channel if it's present.

Did this answer your question?